July 1, 2019

Turning On and Tuning In with NRBQ Live

Assembling their six Sirius/XM performances on “The Loft” (November 30, 2015) and WFMU-FM’s Monty Hall, Jersey City, NJ concert (August 20, 2017), NRBQ’s new album Turn On, Tune In features the innovative band at their best live, containing six previously unrecorded songs among the 21 tracks. Bob Brainen wrote the liner notes for Turn On, Tune In, which will be released September 6 on CD and double LP through Omnivore Recordings. Both configurations will include a DVD of the WFMU show.

Throughout the live recordings, NRBQ applies its undefinable, multi-style approach that the band used on all its work going back to 1966. “We have our own genre,” says keyboardist/vocalist and founder, Terry Adams. “It can’t be contained by somebody else’s idea. There’s not a pre-existing niche or style that we’re willing to sign up for.”

written by Mike Ragogna

Track Listing:

1. Don’t Ever Change 

2. Florida 

3. Yes I Will

4. Dr. Howard, Dr. Fine, Dr. Howard

5. Wilderness Road 

6. Step Aside

7. Beautiful Lover 

8. Don’t Talk About My Music

9. Can’t Wait To Kiss You 

10. Nature’s Gonna Pay You Back 

11. Tragic Magic 

12. Red’s Piano 

13. Queen Talk

14. It Feels Good 

15. That’s Neat, That’s Nice

16. Don’t Worry Baby 

17. Red River Rock

18. Keep This Love Goin’ 

19. The Animal Life

20. Things To You 

21. RC Cola And A Moon Pie

Tracks 1–6 : Recorded at SiriusXM in Washington, DC on Nov. 30, 2015 TRACKS 7–21 : Recorded at Monty Hall / WFMU in Jersey City, N.J. on Aug. 20, 2017 

DVD Program : Contains WFMU performance

Love it? Share it?