June 2, 2015

Live Tigers Jaw Coming

Tigers Jaw Announces Live at Studio 4 LP Out June 30, 2015 via Memory Music

Pre-Order Now Available

Acoustic Northeast Tour Dates in June

Will Yip, the producer, engineer and songwriter at Studio 4 behind several of the biggest bands in today’s punk and indie scene (Title Fight, Circa Survive, La Dispute, Balance + Composure) announced today that he has teamed up with Run For Cover Records to create his own imprint, Memory Music.  Launched with the intention of highlighting the community of artists he has built around his studio and the overall vibe generated by the studio’s space, Memory Music’s debut release will be a live LP from the much-loved Tigers Jaw.

Live at Studio 4 was recorded during a series of acoustic live shows Yip held at Studio 4 in 2013.  VICE is sharing the track “Teen Rocket”, and Philadelphia NPR station WXPN 88.5 will air an interview with Will and Tigers Jaw alongside a special acoustic session today at 9pm EST that can also be heard on their website.  Pre-order for Live at Studio 4 is now available via the Memory Music webstore.

Tigers Jaw will embark on a handful of Northeast dates to support the release of Live at Studio 4 (all tour dates below).  The Scranton, PA indie-rock band, known for their undeniable down-to-earth charm, manages to be part Fleetwood Mac, part Saves the Day with their boy-girl harmonies, chunky guitars and shimmering organs.  Live at Studio 4 features acoustic versions of 11 original tracks as well as two Title Fight covers, “Safe In Your Skin” and “Where Am I?”.

Following in the vein of labels like Sun Records and Motown, which created a unique vibe in part because they used the same studio for the majority of their classic recordings, Memory Music strives to use Studio 4 in the same tradition. Like with Studio 4, the energy and consistency of those rooms offered identifiable texture throughout the recordings while still allowing the artist shine individually.  Yip aims to make the label a collective of artists he believes in and to release music in an organic way. The focus is putting the spotlight on independent, strong songwriting and revealing the aura created by Yip’s work in Studio 4.

Track Listing:

01) Hum

02) Distress Signal

03) Chemicals

04) Nervous Kids

05) Jimmy Piersall

06) Fake Death

07) Safe In Your Skin / Where Am I?

08) Never Saw It Coming

09) Carry You Over

10) Plane vs. Tank vs. Submarine

11) I Saw Water

12) Teen Rocket

Tour Dates:

6/25 – Philadelphia, PA @ First Unitarian Church*

6/26 – Boston, MA @ The Center for the Arts at the Armory*

6/27 – New York, NY @ Le Poisson Rouge (seated)*

* = acoustic show, w/ support from Lowercase Roses


Love it? Share it?